What’s in store for summer 2014?

Alright, so after a brief recovery from a hectic finals week, I’ve returned to my dusty blog and compiled a list of goals that I have set for this summer.

First and foremost, I needed to do some catching up with my curriculum so I didn’t have anything too crazy planned out due to summer school. I’ve also decided to hold off my part-time job at BJ’s to abstract some time on weekends to work on these goals. Ultimately, what I wish to accomplish is to build a repository of skill sets and personal projects that would be applicable to my endeavors of being a software engineer.

Here’s a general list (in no particular order):

As of now I have some proficiency in C (being my most familiar language) with a little insight in Python, HTML and Ruby. I also have self-taught experience in Adobe Photoshop and Microsoft Office (pre-2010). It’s a very weak language and skill set, but I’m very much dedicated to expand it.

To gauge where I stand in the crowd, I found a resume of Gabriele Cirulli, the creator of the notoriously addicting game, 2048. He is proficient in nine programming languages and frameworks. He has plenty of software experience (including Linux and OS X), a solid GitHub profile, and is a free-lance web developer; all while being only 20 years old. Albeit it is bad practice to compare yourself to others, I think this will serve as inspiration to achieve a stature of equivalency.

These summer goals are tentative and I’m likely to add more along the way. I’m also documenting my progress via this blog and showcasing my approach to problem sets and providing solutions. Another note is that I’m still a noob in the field computer science so any constructive criticism from anyone from the same field is much appreciated.

Hope to obtain your support and thanks for reading!

 
14
Kudos
 
14
Kudos

Now read this

Just Show Up

It’s as simple as that. This notion applies to introducing unique paths to pursue your personal goals. It’s a matter of showing presence which dictates how passionate you truly are about that goal. As cliche as it sounds, showing up... Continue →